My Adventure with Icing– 4th of July Edition

Image

So I’ve been all over Pinterest, searching for new things to make, create, and consume. I’ve also been very in the mood for red, white, and blue, since tomorrow is Fourth of July. So stumbling through the grocery store, I saw the patriotic cake mix…and the icing…and sprinkles, oh my gawd. I went a little nuts and bought everything, okay. ^.^

Image

The first icing style I tried (http://pinterest.com/pin/54746951693157406/) worked very well. But also used A TON of icing. So very cute, but can be a little crazy, especially if you don’t like or cannot handle consuming large quantities of sugar. I  used a Wilton 2A tip, which is in my opinion, the easiest tip you could use when icing. But it also doesn’t leave a lot of room for mistake either.

Image

The second one I tried (http://pinterest.com/pin/54746951693161241/) was much more up my alley when it came to the amount of icing on the cupcakes. Seeing as this pin, however, is only a picture, I had to do a little improv with it. It really reminds of me icecream, with the swirls, so I feel this is a good icing style to use in the summer. It also uses a Wilton 2A tip.

Afterwards, when the kitchen counter, my hands, somehow my thigh, and even the stove was covered in icing, I decided it was time to stop. I am not the best at icing things, but it is a learning process.

I hope you have a wonderful Fourth of July, and as always, you can follow me on Pinterest!

About The Little Mermaid Makes

A fiery redhead with a love of cooking, taking pictures, and blogging. I also really like Star Wars, dragons, and all things nerdy.
This entry was posted in Cupcakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Adventure with Icing– 4th of July Edition

  1. Charlene Erb says:

    Looks beautiful and delish!!

Leave a Reply

